Some Time in Hawaii

Dear Friends,

I hope you are all having a great summer! This time of year is so sweet and one of the best perks of being a student is getting to have summers off and have time to travel and enjoy. I was lucky enough to spend some time in Hawaii this past month and wanted to share some of my favorite pictures with you all.

My dad lives on the Big Island in Puako and my boyfriend and I stayed a week with him in Mauna Lani. I have spent some time in Mauna Lani every summer since I was born and every time I go back, it is as if I never left. This trip was pretty quiet at first since I usually have one or two of my brothers and their girlfriends on the trip, and all my aunts and uncles staying at my grandparent’s house which is also in Mauna Lani. We spent the first few days fishing in the bay that my Dad’s condo over looks, and watching golfers attempt to make it over the water on the signature hole. We didn’t have much luck catching dinner, but were able to catch some of the colorful hinalea fish and set them back into the water.

More of my family did join us a few days into the trip and it was good to get time with my loved ones in such a relaxing and beautiful environment. We enjoyed meals together at The Beach Club, Mauna Lani, Lava Lava and at home and had our share of poke and rum before we left the island. (Check out the next post about the island  grub). Towards the end of our trip, we did an off-road excursion to get to one of the local’s favorite white sand beaches, Makalawena. After a half hour on something that resembled craters and broken lava more than a road, we got to the water and were able to walk the rest of the way to the sand. It was beautiful, but I don’t know if I would make the journey again.

The beaches are beautiful, but sunsets are always one of my favorite parts of being in Hawaii. Night after night, we were treated to some of the most beautiful colors lighting up the sky. Once night falls, there is no place better to see all the stars or the moon reflecting on the black ocean. Looking out at the sky, I feel like I could stay there forever but remember that there is only so much sitting around in the sand one person can do. A few sunburns and tropical drinks later, the week flew by and it was time to get back home in time for the Houndmouth concerts.

I miss being there but am taken back as I scroll through my pictures. Take a look at some of the beaches and sunsets I got to enjoy and if you ever make it to the Big Island, be sure to visit Mauna Lani. Stay tuned for the next blog post about all the tropical drinks and treats we had during our visit.

With love,

Eden

The Green House by Mauna Lani Beach Club

The Green House by Mauna Lani Beach Club

Puffer fish in the mix

Puffer fish in the mix

Snorkel bay by the signature hole

Snorkel bay by the signature hole

hinalea

hinalea

sunset at the bay

sunset at the bay

Makalawena Beach

Makalawena Beach

On the way back to the "road" by Makalawena beach

On the way back to the “road” by Makalawena beach

My cousin climbing high

My cousin climbing high

The most beautiful sky

The most beautiful sky

Leave a comment